Bibliographic Record Workform
To access the Bibliographic Record workform, select Cataloging, Bibliographic Records or press F12, and search for the record. Use the Bibliographic Record workform to create new bibliographic records, edit existing records, check MARC format, check headings, detect duplicates, and create item records. The Bibliographic workform header is located above the bibliographic information, and does not change when you change the workform’s view.
The Bibliographic Record workform header includes the following read only information:
- Control number
- Owner
- Items - The number of linked items.
- Record status
- Title
If you have the appropriate permissions, you can select or clear the Display in PAC checkbox or the Do not overlay checkbox. If the Display in PAC box is checked, the title displays in the PAC. If the Do not overlay box is checked, the bibliographic record cannot be overlaid during automatic processing, such as importing or duplicate detection.
The ILL checkbox is checked if the bibliographic record is an interlibrary loan bib, and the Host box is checked if the bib is the host record in a bound-with group.
If the Bibliographic record Do not overlay feature enabled parameter is set to Yes, the Do not overlay checkbox appears in the header.
From the Bibliographic workform, you can do the following:
- Create a new bibliographic record - On a blank bibliographic workform, type information in the bottom section of the workform, and save the record. On an existing bibliographic record, select File > New to create a new bibliographic record. See Creating MARC Records.
- Search for another existing bibliographic record - Select File > Open to open the Polaris Find Tool and search for another bibliographic record.
- Print the bibliographic information - Select File > Print and select the type of information to print. You can also click
to print the currently displayed record, or use the arrow next to the printer icon to select the other views to print (Current view, List view, Bibliographic Full, Bibliographic Brief). - Delete the bibliographic record - Select File > Delete or click
. - Check authority headings - Select Tools > Check Authority Headings. See Checking Authority Headings.
- Validate the MARC format of the record - Select Tools > Check MARC format. See Checking MARC Format.
- Check for duplicate records - Select Tools > Check duplicates. See Checking for Duplicate Records.
- Create linked item records - Select Tools > Create > Item Record. See Creating Item Records.
- See all linked item records - Select Links > Item Records, press Ctrl+T. If there are multiple item records, they appear in the Linked Item Records dialog box. Double-click an item to open it in the Item Record workform.
- Place a hold on the title - Select Tools > Place Hold. See Placing Hold Requests.
- Go to existing linked records - Select Links > Existing, and select the type of record to open. If there are several linked records, they appear in the Linked Records dialog box. You can right-click the listed records and perform various functions. The options available on the context menu depend on the type of record.
- Sort the fields in the MARC data - Select Tools > Sort.
- Use a macro - Select Tools > Macro to display the Macros tool bar.
- To apply a macro, select a macro name in the Macros list and click
(Run Macro). See Apply a macro. - To record a macro, click
(Record Macro). See Record a macro.
- To apply a macro, select a macro name in the Macros list and click
- View or enter MARC data. See Bibliographic Record Workform - MARC 21 View.
- View how the title appears in the PAC - Select View > PAC . See Bibliographic Workform - PAC View.
- View the statistics about the title -Select View > Statistics to view historical information. See Bibliographic Workform - Statistics View.
- View the resource entity for the bibliographic record - Select View > Resources. Resource entities are created if the bibliographic record is for an eContent or another electronic resource linked to a Vendor Account record. See Bibliographic Workform - Resources View.
- View the links for a Bound-with group - Select View > Bound-with.
- View usage statistics - Select Tools > Show Usage Statistics to open a window that shows the brief display of the record, the circulation statistics for all items linked to the bibliographic record, and a list of all item records that are linked to the bibliographic record.
- View the bibliographic record’s properties - Select File > Properties. The Bibliographic Record Properties window appears with two tabs—General and About. The General tab displays MARC information such as the title, author, publisher, publication date, format, and language. It also lists the number of linked items and the number of holds. The About tab displays information about the record such as the creator, the creation date, the last modified date, the import date and import file (if the record was imported), the first available date, and circulation statistics.
Bibliographic Record Workform - MARC 21 View
Use the MARC 21 view to enter MARC data. Type title information in the bottom section of the workform. See Editing MARC Records.
Tips:
For shortcut keys, see MARC Editor (Keyboard).
See Fixed Fields Reference for a list of dialog boxes to help you enter the Leader and fixed fields.
Enter diacritics by selecting them from a dialog box. See Choose characters/diacritics from a chart.
Enter data in the 006 or 007 tag by double-clicking the tag, or pressing Ctrl + E. See Add 006 and 007 fixed fields.
To enter a subfield delimiter A separate character used in conjunction with a subfield code and introduces each subfield in a variable field., press Ctrl+Q.
Bibliographic Workform - PAC View
Use the PAC view to preview the title information as it would appear in the PAC. The PAC view shows the title as it appears in the PAC except that some tasks that are available in the PAC, such as searching for other records, are unavailable in this view.
Bibliographic Workform - Statistics View
Use the Statistics view to see the number of item records that are linked to the bibliographic record, the first available date, the number of holds, and the circulation statistics.
Bibliographic Workform - Resources View
Use the Resources view to view the resource entities for this bibliographic record. Resource entities are created if the bibliographic record is for an eContent or other electronic resource linked to a Vendor Account record. See Resource Entities.
Bibliographic Record Workform - Bound-With view
Use the Bound-With view to see Host or Constituent links if the title is part of a bound-with group. See Cataloging Bound-With Materials.